Main information:

Residenz Museum

The Wittelsbach residence in Munich was opened to the public in 1920 and now ranks among the finest palace museums in Europe.

The Residenz was heavily bombed in the Second World War. Reconstruction began in 1945 and the works of art were returned as far as possible to their original locations.


Picture: Throne Room (Queen's Apartment)

Picture: Longcase clock

Picture: Cabinet

Throne Room
Königsbau, The Queen's Apartment

Longcase clock
Paris, around 1725/30
(Reiche Zimmer)

Cabinet
Augsburg, around 1680-85
(Trierzimmer)


The apartments, ceremonial rooms and chapels that once belonged to the rulers of Bavaria provide an exceptional opportunity to see a large number of rooms in a wide variety of styles. The Residenz gives visitors a good idea of how rulers lived in past times and how they used art and architecture as an expression of power.

Over the centuries the Wittelsbachs amassed important collections of porcelain, silver, paintings and miniatures. Visitors can see these along with a broad selection of outstanding individual works of art. The treasures range from the sculpture of classical antiquity to bronze sculpture of the sixteenth to the nineteenth century, via magnificent tapestries and extensive holdings of rare furniture and clocks, to candelabra and chandeliers dating from several centuries.

Please note: Due to restoration works the King's tract, the collection "19th-century porcelain", the Nibelung Rooms and the exhibition "Destruction and Reconstruction" can not be visited at the moment.

 

| nach oben |